



Fifteen countries represented in Guatemala

GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala, April 16, 2013 – Players from 15 countries will take part in the Gatorade's Guatemala Beach Volleyball Tournament to be held at Campo Marte Park in the capital of Guatemala from April 19-21.

The countries represented are: Bahamas, Canada, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Trinidad & Tobago, United States and U.S. Virgin Islands.

Sixteen pairs per gender, to be divided in four pools of four teams, have been registered for the tournament. The top two teams from each pool will advance to the medals' bracket with the two teams of the bottom to continue playing for the 9 to 16 places.

It is the seventh edition of the double-gender competition traditionally held at the courts of Campo Marte Park located in the center of Guatemala City.

Americans Jenny Kropp and Whitney Pavlik will be defending their throne in the women's competition while Roberto Rodriguez, who won last year with Pablo Guzman, will team up with Erik Haddock trying to repeat.

Canada, El Salvador, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago and United States will be represented by two teams per gender while Puerto Rico has two entries in the men's event. Bahamas, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic, Nicaragua and U.S. Virgin Islands have registered teams in both genders. Cuba will play only with a men team while Honduras and Jamaica are entering only with women pairs.

Men's teams: BAH (Tonny Simon/Princtanique Howard), CAN-A (Grant O'Gorman/Sam Pedlow), CAN-B (Michael Plantinga/Cameron Wheelan), CAY (Richard Campbell/Duncan Hamann), CUB (Karell Peña/Sergio Gonzalez), DOM (Luis Castillo/Alex Medina), ESA-A (Carlos Talavera/David Vargas), ESA-B (Carlos Guatemala/Armando Guatemala), GUA-A (Andy Leonardo/Eric Garrido), GUA-B (Julio Recinos-Luis García), ISV (Marc Lomeli/Anthony Pippen), NCA (Ruben Mora/Miguel Lopez), PUR-A (Roberto Rodriguez-Erik Haddock), PUR-B (Hector Soto/Víctor Rivera), TRI-A (Simon Blake/Dabneil Williams), TRI-B (Akim Bushe/Taran Deonath), USA-A (Stafford Slick/John Mayer), USA-B (Joseph Dykstra/Andrew McGuire).

Women's teams: BAH (Kelcie Johnson/Davia Moss), CAN-A (Kacie MacTavish/Caleigh Whitaker), CAN-B (Victoria Altomare/Sophie Bukovec), CAY (Jessica Wolfenden/Cristin Alexander), CRC (Valeria González/Angie Montero), DOM (Diana Peguero/Nairobi Agramonte), ESA-A (Kathya Vázquez/María Vargas), ESA-B (Yvonne Soler-Laura Molina), GUA-A (María José Orellana/Lourdes Ramírez), GUA-B (Nadia Galan/Andrea Orellana), HON (Gina Flores/Martha Euceda), ISV (Jamie Farley/Laurie Bachler), JAM (Shedelky Hamilton-Barnes/Kai Wright), NCA (Elia Torres/Swan Mendoza), TRI-A (LaTeisha Joseph/Apphia Glasgow), TRI-B (Rachel Noel/Arielle Folker), USA-A (Jenny Kropp/Whitney Pavlik), USA-B (Brittany Hochevar/Emily Day).

The past winners in Guatemala are the following:

Men

- 2007 Yoandri Kindelán/Yunieski Ramírez (CUB)
- 2008 Juan Virgen/Aldo Miramontes (MEX)
- 2009 Hans Stolfus/Anthony Medel (ÙSA)
- 2010 Karell Peña/Sergio González (CUB)
- 2011 Juan Virgen/Aldo Miramontes (MEX)
- 2012 Roberto Rodríguez/Pablo Guzmán (PUR)

Women

- 2007 Maritere Ramos/Annia Ruiz (PUR)
- 2008 Bibi Candelas/Mayra García (MEX)
- 2009 Kirenia Ballar/Nirian Sinal (CUB)
- 2010 Katherine Zakrzewski/Julie Rodríguez (CAN)

NORCECA Newsletter

- 2011 Heather Bansley/Elizabeth Maloney (CAN)
- 2012 Jenny Kropp/Whitney Pavlik (USA)

Go beyond your limits!