



Beach Volleyball returns to Mazatlan

MAZATLAN, Mexico, September 11, 2013 – The seaside city of Mazatlan in the Pacific coast of Mexico will host the sixth leg of the double-gender 2013 NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit from September 13-15.

Mazatlan is not strange to hosting beach volleyball international events as the city was the site of the final stage of the inaugural Continental Cup towards the London Olympic Games when capacity crowds watched the action.

The local organizers have been giving the final touches to the setup of three temporary courts while their colleagues from NORCECA Confederation are expected to arrive on Wednesday.

Mexico will be represented by serious contenders in both genders with Lombardo Ontiveros and Juan Virgen competing in the men's tournament and Martha Revuelta and Bibi Candelas in the women's event.

Ontiveros and Virgen have won three gold medals this year in Dominican Republic, Guatemala and Cuba added to their silver medal in Toluca, Mexico. Revuelta and Candelas won a bronze medal in the previous stop in Varadero, Cuba preceded by a silver medal when the event took place in Toluca.

Women's Teams

Canada-A (Melissa Humana/Taylor Pishcke), Canada-B (Kacie MacTavish/Caleigh Whitaker), Costa Rica-A (Karen Cope/Natalia Alfaro), Costa Rica-B (Katherine Quesada/Eugenia Ramirez), Guatemala (Maria Jose Orellana/Lourdes Ramirez), Honduras (Gina Flores/Martha Euceda), Mexico-A (Martha Revuelta/Bibi Candelas), Mexico-B (Diana Estrada/Paola Estrada), Puerto Rico (Dariam Acevedo/Vanessa Velez), Trinidad & Tobago (Paulina Woodrofe/Elki Phillip), United States-A (Heather Hughes/Lane Carico), United States-B (Allison Fleming/Traci Weamer).

Men's Teams

Canada-A (Grant O'Gorman/Sam Pedlow), Canada-B (Josh Binstock/Samuel Schachter), Costa Rica (Esteban Escobar/Jonathan Guevara), Guatemala (Julio Recinos/Luis Garcia), Mexico-A (Lombardo Ontiveros/Juan Virgen), Mexico-B (Juan Revuelta/Ricardo Galindo), Nicaragua (Gerald Umaña/Dany Lopez), Puerto Rico-A (Roberto Rodriguez/Hector Soto), Puerto Rico-B (Victor Rivera/Erik Haddock), St Kitts & Nevis (Shawn Seabrookes/St Claire Hodge), Trinidad & Tobago (Fabian Whitfield/Colin Bernard), United States-A (William Montgomery/James Avery Drost), United States-B (Kevin McColloch/Derek Olson), US Virgin Islands (Marc Lomeli/Anthony Pippen).



NORCECA Newsletter