Clash of beach titans is one week away


SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic, April 12, 2011 – The twelve teams –two per country- to take part in the NORCECA Men’s Central Zone Beach Volleyball Tournament were revealed during a press conference held at the Confederation’s headquarters in Santo Domingo on Tuesday.


The event will be held at Boca Chica Beach, 20 miles to east of the Dominican Republic’s capital through April 18-20, and it is part of the FIVB Continental Cup, the inaugural qualifying event to next year’s Olympic Games in London.


“We are confident to watch beach volleyball played at its highest level as the best men’s teams of our region will clash here next week,” said Ramon Garcia, President of the Dominican Republic Volleyball Confederation.


Teams from Canada, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Puerto Rico and United States, considered as the ones more capable within NORCECA will compete under a country versus country format. Teams will play each other in best-of-five contests with a golden set of 15 points in case of a tie.


The complete list of teams registered is the following:

Canada: Christian Redmann/Ben Saxton and Martin Reader/Chaim Schalk. Cuba: Karel Peña/Javier Jimenez and Yadrian Escobar/Yaimel Borrell. Dominican Republic: Yewddy Perez/German Recio and Francisco Abreu/Eduardo Concepción. Mexico: Juan Virgen/Aldo Miramontes and Ulises Ontiveros/Lombardo Ontiveros. Puerto Rico: Roberto Rodríguez/Christopher Underwood and Pablo Guzmán/Fernando Morales. United States: William Strickland/Aaron Wachttogel and Steven Vanderwerp/Matt McKinney.