Argentina won the

III Girls’ U18 Pan Am Cup



HAVANA, Cuba, March 22, 2015 – Argentinean team won the III Girls’ U18 Pan Am Cup over Dominican 17-25, 25-21, 13-25, 25-23, and 15-8 on the final match at the Coliseum of the Sports City.


The top scorers of this crucial clash decided in almost two hours were precisely from both teams, the South American María Corbalán and Natalia Martínez, both with 22. On the winning team, Anahí Tosi contributed with 10 points. By the Caribbean team, Massiel Matos (21) and Lisbeth Rosario(10) topped double digits.


“I am very happy for having won over a much experienced rival, with much more fitness and everything. I think that in sports the winner is not always the strongest or fastest, but who does think is possible to achieve it. It was the difference today in a quiet emotional match which represents the first international triumph of this team. I hope this success helps to open new doors”, expressed Mauro Silvestre, South American coach.  


Their captain, Azul Benítez, visibly touched, expressed that “it was very important to be able to come from behind and win as it allowed us to get again the gold medal which our country won i 2011 at the I Continental Cup. We really defeated the Dominicans for our attitude and fighting spirit showed in the game when we needed it to.”


Brazilian, Alexandre Ceccato, coach of Dominican Republic, praised his rivals. “Argentina served hard, and received and defended better than us. They are a great team. They deserve the gold medal. Everybody can spike. I am disappointed with my pupils as they are much more experienced. Among them there are some who have played in the U-23 category. So, they are who should have taken the Cup home.”


The Caribbean captain, Yokaty Pérez, recognized that “we started much unfocused. We had good sets, but others bad. At the end the winner was the team which better functioned. Nevertheless, it helps us as a new experience in view of the U18 World Championship.”


After the medallists, Argentina (gold), Dominican Republic (silver) and Cuba (bronze), were Puerto Rico, Peru, Mexico Chile and Costa Rica.


Standings in previous editions of this Continental Cup:


2011 (Tijuana): Argentina, Mexico, Dominican Republic, Peru, Puerto Rico, Chile, Costa Rica, and El Salvador

2013 (Guatemala): Brasil, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, Argentina, Chile, Peru, Colombia and Guatemala.