Back News




Caguas sweeps Juncos to claim Puerto Rican title


CAGUAS, Puerto Rico, May 17, 2017 – Caguas made history in the Puerto Rican Women’s Volleyball League after claiming their fourth consecutive title with a sweep of the final series against Juncos.


Caguas defeated Juncos 3-0 (25-11, 25-15, 25-16) to win the Mazda Cup for their twelfth national title.


Annie Drews led Caguas with 15 points, followed by Karina Ocasio and Ana Sofia Jusino with 13 and 11 points, respectively. Tara Mueller had 14 points for Juncos.


The fourth consecutive title of Caguas made the Criollas the third team in the history of the league to achieve the feat joining Corozal and Arecibo.


The middle-blocker Jusino was elected the most valuable player in recognition to her consistent performance throughout the series.


Jusino also made history as the first ever rookie to be named the most valuable player in a final series.