Costa Rica to defend its Central American Women's title

MANAGUA, Nicaragua, October 16, 2021- With 15 consecutive titles, out of a total of 17, Costa Rica becomes the main candidate to stay on top, when the XXI Central American Senior Women's Volleyball Cup begins on Sunday.


After a two-year hiatus due to the pandemic, the competition returns to the field and what more scenario than the Alexis Arguello Gymnasium, in Managua, which hosted the 2017 Central American Games.


Costa Rica has beach volleyball Olympian Karen Cope on its roster, along with experienced players like Tatiana Sayles and Irene Fonseca. They are joined by young players such as Angélica Rodríguez, Julissa Rodríguez, María Castro, Melissa Campos or Tamara Espinoza.


Meanwhile, Belize, second place in the last Central American Cup in 2018, has only four repeat players from that tournament: Sherika Burton, Karen Quan, Kevanna Sebastian and captain Nelissa Ramírez.


Nicaragua, for its part, has a combination of experienced players such as Claudia Noguera, Hellen Traña, Miriam Blandino and Lolette Rodríguez, along with youth such as María Belén Arcia, Francesca Medrano and Marcela Roa, who want to improve the fifth place achieved in the last tournament.


El Salvador, a bronze medalist in Belize 2018, has Captain Adriana Flores, Gabriela Funes, Tatiana Menjivar and María Jiménez, as the only repeaters. Geannine Velásquez, Daniela López, Nicole Araujo and Jennifer Durán are some of the youths that complete the team.

Panama is led by captain Johana Arroyo, and joined by Katherine Tajú, Thais Mosquera, Hashlyn Cuero, Kariani Sáenz and María Gallimore.


María Alvarez is the captain of Guatemala, who has achieved three bronze medals in the last four tournaments, and also has Aury Alvarez, Martha Guillermo, María García, Astrid González and youth such as Anelisa Rodas and Naomi Monney.


Honduras, absent in the last Cup, arrives with Cecille Johnson, Dora Bogran, captain Estefany Godoy, Dazly Durán and Josselyn Waterhouse.


The games will be played at 1:00 p.m., 4:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m.