Back News



Costa Rica-1 and Nicaragua-1 strong beginning at AFECAVOL U-21 Women’s Beach


PUERTO JIMENEZ, Costa Rica, September 1, 2017.- Vivian Hernández/Angel Williams of Costa Rica-1  and Paola Montealto/Anielka Alonso of Nicaragua-1 undefeated in two outings in day one of  the tenth AFECAVOL U-21 Women’s Beach Volleyball Central American Championship.


Vivian and Angel better known as “Macha” prevailed without complications over their two opponents in pool B. The local team first defeated Dana Funes and Alejandra Mariona of El Salvador with huge advantage in set one 2-0 (21-8, 21-18). Their following victory was against

Guatemala-2 of Laura Quiñones and Kimberly Cardona by a close 2-0 (21-18, 21-19).


In pool A, Paola Montealto alongside Anielka Alonso of Nicaragua-1 beat resilient Laurens Alvarez and Xue Murillo of Honduras-1 by 2-0 (21-15, 22-20). In their second outing, Paola and Anielka worked hard to defeat Paola Alvarado and Maria Fernanda Juarez of Guatemala-1 by 2-1 (21-11, 19-21, 15-13).


Guatemala-2 of Laura Quiñones and Kimberly Cardona, before falling against Vivian and Angel “Macha” of Costa Rica-1 had pocketed two important victories. The Guatemalan duo beat NCA-2 Lourdes Lugo/Guisell García by 2-0 (21-13, 21-5) and over HON-2 of Lois Pinnace/Cecille Johnson by a tight 2-0 (21-18, 21-19).


Pool play continues on Saturday and finishes with quarterfinals. The event concludes on Sunday with consolation matches, semifinals and finals.


Women’s Results Day 1 Friday Sep/1:

Pool A: GUA1 d CRC2 2-0 (21-9, 21-14); NCA1 d HON1 2-0 (21-15, 22-20); HON1 d CRC2 2-0 (21-17, 21-19); NCA1 d GUA1 2-1 (21-11, 19-21, 15-13): Pool B: ESA d HON2 2-1 (21-18, 19-21); GUA2 d NCA2 2-0 (21-13, 21-5); GUA2 d HON2 2-0 (21-18, 21-19); CRC1 d ESA 2-0 (21-8, 21-18); CRC1 d GUA2 2-0 (21-18, 21-19); HON2 d NCA2 2-0 (21-15, 21-14)


Pool Composition

Pool A: GUA-1 Paola Marie Alvarado/Maria Fernanda Juarez; NCA-1 Katherine Paola Montealto/Anielka Valeska Alonso; HON-1 Laurens Regina Alvarez/Xue Nicolle Murillo; CRC-2 María Alex Mena/Kianny María Araya .


Pool B: CRC-1 Vivian Idannia Hernández/Angel Williams; ESA Dana Valeria Funes/Alejandra María Mariona; GUA-2 Laura Paola Quiñonez/Kimberly Dhominik Cardona; NCA-2 Lourdes Isabela Lugo/Guisell Indira García; HON-2 Lois Terrylee Pinnace/Cecille Zuline Johnson Hydes (HON-2)