Back News




Cubans Quesada and Peña go for third title in a row

OCHO RIOS, Jamaica, June 13, 2017 – Cubans Daisel Quesada and Karell Peña will be seeking their third title in a row this year when they step on the sands at Ocho Rios Beach Tournament to be held from June 22 to 26.

Quesada and Peña won the gold medals at La Paz, México and Cayman Islands the first two tournaments of the 2017 NORCECA Circuit and will be vying to tie the record of three titles in a row first established by Mexico’s Juan Virgen and Aldo Miramontes in 2009 and tied by the same team the following year.

In 2012, Puerto Rican Roberto –Rafu- Rodriguez won three in a row with different partners and Virgen won three consecutive events in 2013 with Lombardo Ontiveros.

All the exciting actions at the Jamaican beach can be followed on video streaming for only US$8.00 on NORCECA TV.

In La Paz, the Cuban duo defeated home favorites Virgen and Ontiveros of Mexico in three sets 2-1 (13-21, 21-17, 15-8). At Grand Cayman Quesada and Peña overcame Canada’s Maverick Hatch and Garrett May also in three sets 2-1 (18-21, 21-16, 15-6).

Quesada and May are one of the teams registered in Ocho Rios who are already qualified to the FIVB World Championships to be held in Vienna, Austria from July 28 to August 6.

The others are Guatemala’s Andy Leonardo and Luis García, Canada’s Aaron Nusbaum and Ryan Vandenburg and Trinidad & Tobago’s Daneil Williams and Marlon Phillip.

Men’s Teams

Canada-A (Garret May/Maverick Hatch), Canada-B (Aron Nusbaum/Ryan Vanderburg), Costa Rica (Bryan Monge/Richard Smith), Cuba (Daisel Quesada/Karell Peña), Dominican Republic (Luis Castillo/Alex Medina), Guatemala (Andy Leonardo/Luis García), Jamaica-A (Mark Lewis/Patrico Grant), Jamaica-B (Duante Smith/Jamaael Willis), Jamaica-C (Christopjer Walters/Tristan Hitchaman), Jamaica-D (Noley Ferguson/Rojey Hutchinson), Mexico (Josue Gaxiola/Jose Rubio), Saint Kitts & Nevis (Kemoroy Percival/Rancinco Jeffers), Suriname (Joshua Duarkasing/David Pinas), Trinidad & Tobago (Daneil Williams/Marlon Phillip), United States-A (Miles Evans/William Kolinske), United States-B (Stafford Slick/William Allen).