Back News




Daisel and Peña tie record of NORCECA Circuit


OCHO RIOS, Jamaica, June 25. 2017 – Cubans Daisel Quesada and Karell Peña defeated Miles Evans and William Kolinkse of United States-A 2-0 (21-13, 22-20) to tie the men’s record of three gold medals in a row at the NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit.


The champions of La Paz, Mexico and Cayman Islands keep their solid march by winning undefeated the Pool B and then beating Costa Ricans Bryan Monge and Richard Smith in the semifinals 2-0 (21-15, 21-15).


Evans and Kolinske advanced after their victory in three sets (14-21, 22-20, 15-12) over Aaron Nusbaum and Josh Binstock of Canada-A, who were deserving winners of the bronze medal by defeating the fiery Monge and Smith 2-0 (21-12, 21-14).


Quesada and Peña join teams who have won three in a row: Mexicans Juan Virgen and Aldo Miramontes (2009-2010), Virgen who repeated the feat in 2013 with Lombardo Ontiveros and Puerto Rican Roberto Rodriguez who won three straight in 2012 playing with different partners.


“This circuit has contributed to elevate my performance and the unity with Karell, who has helped me a lot with his experience of one decade in the national team. I am proud of my partner and we will battle in Varadero to break the record we tied today,” said the slender Dasiel who turns 22 next August.


Karell, 29, said “this stage has been the toughest but in general the tour offers the chance to develop to those from the area and to qualify to a world championship which is our case since we debut in the next to take place in Vienna, Austria.”


“I expect a lot from Daisel, he is a great player and like little brother and both are grateful of our coach Francis Alvarez Cutiño and his work,” said Peña who played as partner of Olympian Sergio Gonzalez before joining Quesada in 2015.”


Other positions: 5.- Jonathan Mesko /Skylar del Sol  (USA-A); 6.- Liam Kopp/Sergiy Gravosky (CAN-B); 7.- Andy Leonardo/Luis García (GUA);  8.- Josué Gaxiola /José Luis Rubio  (MEX); 9.- Mark Lewis/ Christopher Walters (JAM-A); 10.- William Sánchez/Alex Medina (DOM); 11.- Kemoroy Percival/Ranciato Jeffers (SKN).- 12.- Noley Ferguson/Tristan Hitchman (JAM-B).