Men’s Central American Cup in Guatemala


GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala, January 31 2013 - The National Federation of Guatemala officially announced the XVII Men’s Central American Volleyball Cup to be held in Guatemala City from February 2-9 at Teodoro Palacios Flores Gymnasium.


The participating teams are the reigning champions from Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama and Guatemala. They will compete under a round-robin format with the winners qualifying to the NORCECA Continental Championship.


The delegations will arrive on Saturday, with the preliminary inquiry and technical meeting to take place on Sunday.


The schedule features three daily matches with opening match on Monday between Costa Rica and Nicaragua at 14:00 (local time) followed by El Salvador v Panama at 16:00. Hosts Guatemala will close against Honduras at 19:00.


Enrique Santis, President of the Guatemalan Volleyball Federation, led a press conference, accompanied by Mrs. Marta Centeno, President of AFECAVOL and the Control Committee, as well as members of the organizing committee and Guatemala’s team captain and coach.


“This event had to be suspended past November as Guatemala suffered an earthquake but we remained committed to organizing the tournament” said Santis.


Competition Schedule


February 4

Costa Rica v Nicaragua

El Salvador v Panamá

Opening Ceremony

Guatemala v Honduras


February 5

Costa Rica v El Salvador

Nicaragua v Honduras

Guatemala v Panamá


February 6

Costa Rica v Honduras

Nicaragua v Panamá

Guatemala v El Salvador


February 7

Costa Rica v Panamá

Honduras v El Salvador

Guatemala v Nicaragua


February 8

Honduras v Panamá

El Salvador v Nicaragua

Guatemala v Costa Rica

Award Ceremony