John Kessel inducted into USA Volleyball HOF


COLUMBUS, Ohio, May 23, 2019 - John Kessel was inducted into the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame presented at the Dorothy C. Boyce Banquet Wednesday evening in Columbus, Ohio, along with 23 other legends of the sport.


Kessel was honored with USA Volleyball’s Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award, the top award presented by the national governing body for lifetime achievement. He has placed footprints all over the sport of volleyball in all three disciplines – indoor, beach and sitting – to the point that his impact has been reached around the world.


“I have been lucky to stand on the shoulders of giants, and reach just a bit higher only because of all their work,” Kessel told the crowd of 250 attending the Hall of Fame inductions, reflecting on his extended volleyball family. “Thank you for your influence in my life.”


Along with Kessel, Misty May-Treanor and Ron Von Hagan were inducted as All-Time Great Beach Volleyball Players. Bryan Ivie and Beth McLachlin were inducted as All-Time Great Players for indoor volleyball, while Bill StrattonJ. RaskinBjorn “Joe” Johansen and Bernie Specht entered the Hall in the same category under the pioneer division for the 1928-52 era. Kendra Lancaster was enshrined as an All-Time Great Sitting Player.


Pete Hanson, well-known in the Columbus area as the long-time Ohio State men’s volleyball coach who retired after this season, and Stephanie Schleuder were placed into the Hall as All-Time Great Coaches in the contemporary and pioneer divisions.


Steve Bishop and Gloria Cox were honored as George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball inductees. Joel Reinford and Tom Sullivan entered the Hall as Referee and Scorekeeper Emeritus honorees, respectively. Lori Okimura, who term concludes as USA Volleyball’s Board of Directors chair at the end of June, was presented with the William G. Morgan. Danielle Scott, a five-time Olympian, was presented USA Volleyball’s first-ever Courage Award for her bravery in attempting to save the life of her sister in a domestic violence situation.


In the Junior Leadership Service Award category, Sherry and Kevin Wong were presented the Junior Outstanding Program Director award. Priscila Cunha de Almeida was honored with the Junior Outstanding Female Coach award, while Ken Levy was inducted as the Junior Outstanding Clinician. Kari Duncan and Colleen Houk were honored with the Junior Outstanding Referee and Service Awards, respectively. Trish Fay was inducted as the Junior Outstanding Parent.