Men’s Pan American Cup in Santo Domingo


Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, July 5, 2012 – The seventh edition of the Men’s Pan American Cup to take place in Santo Domingo from July 9 to 14, was officially announced during a press conference held at NORCECA headquarters on Thursday.


The eight-team competition will qualify the best ranked team, not already included in the 2013 FIVB World League, to the 2012 WL Qualification Tournament later this year.


Teams competing in Pool A are: Argentina, Canada, Dominican Republic and Trinidad & Tobago while teams in Pool B are: Brazil, Mexico, United States and Venezuela.


The delegations are scheduled to arrive on Saturday with the preliminary enquiry sessions and general technical meeting to be held on Sunday.


The winners of the pools will advance directly to the semifinal round while the teams placed in second and third place will clash in crossed matches in the quarterfinals on July 12. The semifinals and finals will be played on July 13-14.


With four gold medals under their belts –including three in a row from 2008-10- USA are the most successful team in the history of the competition. Mexico and defending champions Brazil won the other two.


 In last year’s edition at Gatineau, Canada, Brazil defeated United States 3-1 (25-23, 21-25, 25-17, 28-26) to claim the gold medal. The bronze medal went to hosts Canada following a straight-set victory (25-14, 25-20, 25-21) over Puerto Rico.


The schedule has four daily matches with Monday’s opening action kicking off with Argentina v Canada at 13:00 (local time), followed by the clash between Brazil v Mexico at 15:00. Venezuela will go against United States at 17:00 and Dominican Republic will close the activities playing Trinidad & Tobago at 19:00.


During the press conference, the Dominican Republic National Federation introduced the members of the Men’s National Team led by its captain Jose Caceres.


Preliminary Round Competition Schedule

Pool A

Jul 09  Argentina v Canada

Jul 09  Dominican Republic v Trinidad & Tobago

Jul 10 Argentina v Trinidad & Tobago

Jul 10 Dominican Republic v Canada

Jul 11 Canada v Trinidad & Tobago

Jul 11 Dominican Republic v Argentina


Pool B

Jul 09 Brazil v Mexico

Jul 09 United States v Venezuela

Jul 10 United States v Mexico

Jul 10 Brazil v Venezuela

Jul 11 Venezuela v Mexico

Jul 11 Brazil v United States


Year-by-Year Results


Year    Gold     Silver   Bronze

2006     USA      DOM     CAN

2007     MEX      PUR      CUB

2008     USA      CAN      DOM

2009     USA      CAN      DOM

2010     USA      ARG      PUR

2011     BRA      USA      CAN


Overall Stadings


Team   Gold     Silver   Bronze Total

USA      4          1          0          5
MEX      1          0          0          1

BRA      1          0          0          1

CAN      0          2          2          4

DOM     0          1          2          3

PUR      0          1          1          2

ARG      0          1          0          1

CUB      0          0          1          1

TOT      6          6          6          18