La Paz welcomes NORCECA beach players for a fifth time

LA PAZ, Mexico, May 10, 2022 - Fifteen men’s pairs and 14 of women’s duos have registered to take part in the La Paz Beach Volleyball Tournament starting next Friday.

This will be the fifth visit of the NORCECA Tour to this city in Baja California Sur that hosted consecutive events from 2016 to 2019, a streak interrupted due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Mexico, the host country will be represented by three teams in each gender, while Canada and the United States will have two pairs in each segment.

El Salvador and the US Virgin Islands will have two men's teams and one women's team, while Costa Rica, Guatemala and Puerto Rico will have one team per gender.

St Kitts & Nevis will field a men's team only while Trinidad & Tobago and Jamaica will only field a women's pair.

Mexican Miguel Sarabia, now having veteran Juan Virgen as his partner, won the men's event in 2019 along with Raymond Stephens.

The last female champions in La Paz were the Canadians Devon May and Darby Dunn, who beat the Mexicans Diana Valdez and María Quintero in the final.

Quintero is now teaming up with Atenas Gutierrez as one of three representatives from Mexico.

The teams will go through preliminary uniform and passport inspections on Thursday when the general technical meeting will also take place.

Men’s Teams

CAN Daniel Dearing/Sam Schachter, Simon Fecteau-Boutin/Hugo Rosso-Bonneau, CRC Criforth Lobo/Fabián Guerra, ESA Franklin Flores/Armando Guatemala, David Vargas/Gabriel Vargas, GUA Andy Blanco/Luis García, MEX Jorge Barajas/Gabriel Cruz, Ricardo Galindo/Isaias Aguirre, Juan Virgen/Miguel Sarabia, PUR Kevin Rodríguez/Josué Rivera, SKN St Clair Hodge/Shawn Seabrookes, USA Thimothy Brewster/Travis Mewhirter, Cory Evan/William Kolinkse, ISV Austin Pipen/Daniel Samuelson, Bryce Mayer/Brian Kwasny.

Women’s Teams

CAN Anna Feore/Anna Licht, Ruby Sorra/Emma Glagau, CRC Angel Williams/Ximena Núñez, ESA Yvonne Soler/Laura Molina, GUA Natalia Giron/Paola Alvarado, JAM Chauna Kelly/Petal Smith, MEX Abril Flores/Esperanza Albarrán, Atenas Gutiérrez/María Quintero, María Ibarra/Alejandra Villavicencio, PUR María González/Allanis Navas, TTO Suraya Chase/Abby Blackman, USA Megan Gebhard/Savannah Simo, Kaytlin Malaney/Carly Kan, ISV Taylor Buckner/Cristina Almeida.