Larson, Binstock and Cabral among candidates for Athletes’ Commission


LAUSANNE, Switzerland, January 1, 2021 - The FIVB confirmed the final list of eligible candidates for the first-ever FIVB Athletes’ Commission Elections following the closure of the open application process.


Jordan Larson of USA volleyball and Canadian beach player Josh Binstock are joined by former Dominican volleyball player Milagros Cabral as candidates from NORCECA Confederation countries.


The FIVB Athletes’ Commission will be composed of ten members, five of which will be elected by the players and five appointed by the FIVB President. The Athletes’ Commission shall also have equal gender representation amongst its membership, with the same number of representatives from volleyball and beach volleyball.


The application process for candidatures was open to all National Federations to nominate their respective candidate. With 11 female and 5 male eligible candidates now confirmed, it will be the responsibility of the players to elect their Commission representatives.


The elections are due to take place through a secured online voting platform during the last two weeks of January 2021. A total of eight volleyball and eight beach volleyball players are running in the hope of joining the prestigious FIVB Athletes’ Commission.


Between them, the candidates have nine Olympic medals and ten World Championships podium appearances and have collectively participated in 58 World Championships along with other key FIVB events.


The full list of candidates can be found below:


  • Louise Bawden (AUS) – beach volleyball

  • Joshua Binstock (CAN) - beach volleyball

  • Julius Brink (GER) – beach volleyball

  • Milagros Cabral de la Cruz (DOM) - volleyball

  • Neslihan Demir Güler (TUR) - volleyball

  • Sam Deroo (BEL) - volleyball

  • Małgorzata Glinka-Mogentale (POL) - volleyball

  • Jordan Larson (USA) - volleyball

  • Meppelink Madelein (NED) – beach volleyball

  • Ognjenovic Maja (SRB) - volleyball

  • Samuele Papi (ITA) - volleyball

  • Polina Rahimova  (AZE) – volleyball

  • Marketa Slukova (CZE) – beach volleyball

  • Delcio Soares (MOZ) – beach volleyball

  • Anouk Vergé-Depré (SUI) – beach volleyball

  • Chen Xue (CHN) – beach volleyball