Nine teams competing for men’s volleyball Pan American supremacy


SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico, May 23, 2010 – The Fifth Men’s Pan American Cup starts on Monday with the participation of nine teams from NORCECA and South America Confederations.


The top ranked team of the tournament not already qualified to the 2011 edition of FIVB World League will have the chance to enter in the playoff competition for the 15th and 16th spots of next year’s premier annual men’s volleyball event.


Until last year the Men’s Pan American Cup was reserved for NORCECA’s teams and the USA representative won three of the four editions since 2006. Mexico won in 2007.


Teams competing this year are: Brazil, Colombia and Canada in Pool A, Puerto Rico, Mexico and USA in Pool B and Dominican Republic, Argentina and Venezuela in Pool C.


The three daily matches will be aired on national television and the action for the opening day features Brazil v Colombia, Dominican Republic v Argentina and Mexico v Puerto Rico at Roberto Clemente Coliseum in San Juan with capacity for 15, 000 spectators.


The two pool winners with best points-ratio will advance directly to the semifinal round and the third will compete in the quarterfinals against the three second place teams.


Last year’s event was played in Chiapas, Mexico where USA successfully defended the title but not before a sensational final five-setter against Canada that finished 32-30, 16-25, 24-26, 25-17, 15-12.


Year-by-year podiums 

2006     USA      DOM     CAN

2007     MEX      PUR      CUB

2008     USA      CAN      DOM

2009     USA      CAN      DOM


Top of page