Men’s Pan American Cup returns to Mexico


COLIMA, Mexico, June 14, 2019 – The Men’s Pan American Cup returns to Mexico for the second consecutive year as the fourteenth edition of the event is set to start in Colima from June 16-21.


Twelve national teams and members of the Pan American Union control committee have started their arrival in Colima, to take part of the first stage competition for the qualification to the XXIV Central American & Caribbean Games 2022 and to the XIX Pan American Games 2023.


Teams have been distributed into three pools, with defending champion Argentina, Canada, Cuba and Suriname competing in Pool A; host Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico and Trinidad and Tobago gather in Pool B, and Pool C consisting of Chile, Dominican Republic, Guatemala and United States.


Argentina is aiming for their third title in a row, in previous editions they have won four silver medals and two bronze medals and since 2012 they have always reached the podium. United States has won the event five times, Brazil three, Cuba twice and Mexico once.  


Actions are scheduled to start at 9:00 a.m. (local time) with six daily matches. At the end of the preliminary round, the top two ranked pool winners will earn tickets to the semifinals, while the lowest ranked pool winner along with the second placed teams will play the quarterfinals.


Year by year podium


Year    Gold    Silver   Bronze

2006     USA      MEX      CAN

2007     MEX      PUR      CUB

2008     USA      CAN      DOM

2009     USA      CAN      DOM

2010     USA      ARG      PUR

2011     BRA      USA      CAN

2012     USA      ARG      DOM

2013     BRA      MEX      ARG

2014     CUB      USA      ARG

2015     BRA      ARG      VEN

2016     CUB      ARG      CAN

2017     ARG      PUR      CUB

2018     ARG       BRA      CUB


Preliminary round schedule:


June 16

9:00     Peru v Puerto Rico

11:00    Guatemala v United States

13:00    Canada v Suriname

16:00    Chile v Dominican Republic

18:00    Argentina v Cuba

20:00    Mexico v Trinidad & Tobago


June 17

9:00     Trinidad & Tobago v Puerto Rico

11:00    Dominican Republic v Guatemala

13:00    Suriname v Argentina

16:00    United States v Chile

18:00    Cuba v Canada

20:00    Mexico v Peru


June 18

9:00     Suriname v Cuba

11:00    Guatemala v Chile

13:00    Peru v Trinidad & Tobago

16:00    Dominican Republic v United States

18:00    Canada v Argentina

20:00    Mexico v Puerto Rico