Men's quarterfinals in Lima are all set

LIMA, Peru, July 26, 2019 - Chile, Brazil, Argentina and Venezuela will play the quarterfinals of the men's beach volleyball tournament of the 2019 Pan American Games in Lima, although with Brazilians falling against Cuba in the group stage.

Chileans Marcos and Esteban Grimalt beat Canada 21-11, 21-14 (Aaron Nusbaum/Michael Plantinga) to secure first place, while Juan Virgen and Lombardo Ontiveros, from Mexico, won their match 21-16, 21-17 a Nicaragua (Danny López/Rubén Mora).

Chile waits in the quarterfinals for the winner between Cuba and the Dominican Republic.

Brazil (Oscar Brandao / Thiago Barbosa) lost the battle (1-2) against Cuba Sergio González / Luis Reyes) in one of the most exciting games so far in the tournament, but Brazil was in first place of group B by difference of points, with Cuba in second and now face Dominican Republic in the round of 16.

The Brazilians won the first set 21-16, but Cuba adjusted their game, with more accurate blocking of Gonzalez and a good defense of Reyes, also pressing their opponents with the serve, winning 21-14 the second and third parity it remained until definition 18-16 in favor of the Cubans.

Brazil will play in the quarterfinals against the winner of Mexico and El Salvador.

Uruguay with Mauricio Vieyto/Marco Cairus, defeated Víctor Alpízar / Sebastián Valenciano de Costa Rica 2-0 (22-20, 21-8).

Venezuela had no trouble qualifying first by beating Rolando Hernández / José Gómez 2-0 (21-14, 21-16) to the Dominican Republic (Alex Medina / William Sánchez). Meanwhile, Guatemala with Andy Leonardo / Luis García, won 21-11, 21-6 to Peru (Gabriel Vásquez / Bruno Seminario).

Venezuelans will face the winner of the United States and Canada.

Argentina with Capogroso/Julian Azaad, made a great match against the United States (Ian Satterfield / Mark Burik), recovering from losing the first set 19-21, to win straight sets 21-10, 15-12.

El Salvador with Carlos Escobar/David Vargas won 2-0 (21-19, 21-13) to Trinidad and Tobago (Daynte Stewart / Marlon Phillip).

Argentina goes to the winner of Guatemala and Uruguay.