Back News




Nine Teams to compete at Men’s U23 Pan Am Cup


GUANAJUATO, Mexico, September 4, 2016 – The third edition of the U23 Men’s Pan American Cup will take place in Guanajuato with a record of nine teams competing for three spots to next year’s FIVB World Championship.


The top two ranked NORCECA teams and the top ranked team from South American Confederation will be granted of berths in the world championship with the participation of a total of 12 teams. The hosting country is yet to be confirmed.


Hosts Mexico, Guatemala and Colombia will compete in Pool A, Trinidad & Tobago, Dominican Republic and Cuba will play in Pool B while St Lucia, Argentina and Chile will battle in Pool C.


The top two ranked teams among the pool winners will advance directly to the semifinals and the lowest ranked pool winner will compete in the quarterfinals with the three second place finishers.


Cuba is the current champion of the U23 Men’s Pan American Cup having won the 2014 edition held at home in Havana with a straight-set victory over Mexico. Brazil claimed the gold medal in the inaugural event held in Langley, Canada with a victory in consecutive sets over Argentina.


The Dominican Republic finished in third place in the first two editions with victories over Canada and Guatemala, respectively.


The opening day schedule features a first match between St Lucia and Argentina at 15:00 local time, followed by the match of Trinidad & Tobago and Dominican Republic at 17:00. The contest of Mexico and Guatemala closes the actions at 19:00.


Preliminary Round Schedule:

September 5

15:00 St Lucia v Argentina

17:00 Trinidad & Tobago v Dominican Republic

19:00 Mexico v Guatemala


September 6

15:00 Cuba v Trinidad & Tobago

17:00 Colombia v Guatemala

19:00 Chile v St. Lucia


September 7

15:00 Argentina v Chile

17:00 Dominican Republic v Cuba

19:00 Mexico v Colombia


Past Podium Postions


Year    Gold     Silver   Bronze

2012     BRA      ARG      DOM

2014     CUB      MEX      DOM