Puerto Rico and Costa Rica score two victories


ORANJESTAD, Aruba, November 30, 2012 – Puerto Ricans Yarleen Santiago and Yamileska Yantin won their two matches of Pool D in the first day of action at the Aruba Beach Volleyball Tournament, the eleventh and final leg of the 2012 NORCECA Circuit.


Santiago/Yantín, who won the tournaments of Boca Chica and Mayaguez this year, first defeated the United States-B team of Stevi Robinson and Kirby Burnham by scores of 21-16, 21-11 and then beat compatriots Dariam Acevedo and Tatiana Encarnacion of Puerto Rico-B by 21-13, 21-18.


Costa Ricans Ingrid Morales and Natalia Alfaro also came out winners in their two outings in Pool C in a sunny Friday at Druif Beach.


Morales/Alfaro, who have won two silvers and one bronze in this year’s circuit, won a three-setter (21-16, 15-21, 15-8) over Mexico’s Bibi Candelas and Martha Revuelta and followed with a 21-13, 21-13 night victory under the lights over Dominican Republic’s Diana Peguero and Nairobi Agramonte.


Pool play will be completed early Saturday with the top three teams of each pool earning tickets to the single-elimination championship bracket.


Women’s results of Friday:

Pool A: NCA d CAY 2-0 (21-15, 21-18); CAY d CAN 2-0 (21-13, 21-12). Pool B: LCA d TRI 2-0 (21-12, 21-14); USA-A d LCA 2-0 (21-6, 21-3). Pool C: DOM d VIN 2-0 (21-9, 21-4); CRC-B d MEX 2-1 (21-16, 15-21, 15-8); MEX d VIN 2-0 (21-7, 21-12); CRC d DOM 2-0 (21-13, 21-13). Pool D: PUR-B d CRC-A 2-0 (21-14, 21-14); PUR-A d USA-B 2-0 (21-16, 21-11); USA-B d CRC-A 2-0 (21-14, 21-17); PUR-A d PUR-B 2-0 (21-13, 21-18).