St Lucia to host ninth stop of NORCECA Circuit


GROS ISLET, St. Lucia, October 22, 2012 – The NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit will make its first ever visit to St Lucia with seventeen men’s pairs and sixteen women’s duets participating in the three-day competition from October 26-28.


The event will serve off at Pigeon Island National Landmark in Gros Islet where a temporary seating venue has been set up.


A total of 18 different countries will be represented in the ninth stage of the successful 2012 beach volleyball tour.


Over eighty individuals are volunteering their services to assist St Lucia Volleyball Association during the weekend competition, according to The Voice of St Lucia.


“St Lucia is extremely privileged and on my part I am humbled by the confidence that NORCECA  has placed in St Lucia to allow and give us the support to host a stage in the beach volleyball tournament,” The Voice quoted Brian Louisy, president of the local Volleyball Association.


Donovan Williams, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism expressed: “Volleyball has always been an exciting sport, beach volleyball I think is perhaps even more so. It has been an appeal and attraction; there is great interest in beach volleyball.  This circuit is one that I think is very popular.”


The women’s competitors include the Puerto Rican pair of Yarleen Santiago and Yamileska Yantín, winners of the stops in Boca, Chica, Dominican Republic in April and Mayagüez, Puerto Rico in August.


The teams registered are the following:



Anguilla: Ian Connor-Sherwin Richardson. Antigua: Xavier Roberts-Emroy Lee. Aruba: Mitchel Daniel-Eargenell De Cuba. Barbados: Curtis Gaskin-Hugh Sealey. British Virgin Islands: Drexel Glascow-Canice Marquis. Costa Rica: Esteban Escobar-José Suárez. Dominican Republic: Yewddys Perez-Germán Recio. Grenada: Adam Lefeuillee-Greg Gilbert. Panama: Domingo Ávila-Otto Penso. St Lucia-1: Joseph Clercent-Julian Biscette. St Lucia-2: Gillan Octave-Dayne Williams. St Vincent: Cluevann Cumberbatch-Darryl Franklin. Trinidad & Tobago-1: Daniel Williams-Fabien Whitfield. Trinidad & Tobago-2: Simon Blake-Colin Bernard. United States-1: William Montgomery-Jon Mesko. United States-2: Antonio Ciarelli-Jeffrey Carlson. U.S. Virgin Islands: Marc Lomeli-Anthony Pippen.


Anguilla: Rekisha Leverett-Eva Hodge. Antigua: Sharon Payne-Rosemarie Joseph. Canada: Kristina Vlcek-Victoria Cowley. Costa Rica: Ingrid Morales-Natalia Alfaro. Dominican Republic: Deborah Constanzo-Karla Montilla. French St. Martin: Veronique Berthelot-Clemire Alphonse. Grenada: Shakira Collymore-Maginnie Ampofo. Puerto Rico: Yarleen Santiago-Yamileska Yantín. St. Kitts and Nevis: Antoinette Henry-Andrea Liburd. St Lucia-1: Samantha Mann-Dania Hamilton. St Lucia-2: Indira Laurencin-Jamilla Lansiquot. St Vincent: Nikita Campbell-Bownie Allicot. Trinidad & Tobago-1: Ayana Dyette-Elki Phillip. Trinidad & Tobago-2: Pauline Woodroffe-Nancy Joseph. United States: Tracy Weamer-Kathryn Babcock. U.S. Virgin Islands: Jamie Farley-Laurie Bachler


Top-ten men’s rankings:

1. Canada, 1,170

2. Puerto Rico, 960

3. United States, 860

4. Dominican Republic, 860

5. Guatemala, 810

6. Trinidad & Tobago, 585

7. Cuba, 580

8. Mexico, 540

9. St Lucia, 535

10. El Salvador, 440


Top-ten women’s rankings:

1. Mexico, 1,080

2. Canada, 1,010

3. Puerto Rico, 930

4. United States, 840

5. Dominican Republic, 780

6. Costa Rica, 645

7. Cuba, 580

8. Guatemala, 520

9. Nicaragua, 440

10. Trinidad & Tobago 415


Results of the previous stops: 

Place                           Women                        Men

Cayman Islands             Candelas/Garcia (MEX)   Rodriguez/Haddock (PUR)

Guatemala                     Kropp/Pavlik (USA)        Rodriguez/Guzman (PUR)

Boca Chica, Dom. Rep.   Santiago/Yantin (PUR)    Rodriguez/Irizarry (PUR)

Chiapas, México             N.Sinal/Canet (CUB)       Piña/Gonzalez (CUB)

Toluca, México               Candelas/Garcia (MEX)   Virgen/Ontiveros (MEX)

Varadero, Cuba              Ballard/O.Sinal (CUB)     Piña/Gonzalez (CUB)

Mayagüez, P. Rico          Santiago/Yantín (PUR)    Rodríguez/Haddock (PUR)

Chula Vista, USA            Day/Hughes (USA)         Schalk/Saxton (CAN)