Back News




Peña and Quesada go after NORCECA record


VARADERO, Cuba, July 14, 2017 – Hosts Karell Peña and Daisel Quesada will be seeking a NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit record of four titles in a row after winning the three crowns of the 2017 season in La Paz, Mexico, Cayman Islands and Ocho Rios, Jamaica.


The B Cuban duo is scheduled to play only one match today in Pool B as they go out against Nicaragua’s Ruben Mora and Dany Lopez and tomorrow against Dominicans Víctor Castillo and William Sánchez.


Anyway in the other two groups of four teams and the other of three, there are also team  capable to win as it is the case of compatriots Sergio Gonzalez and Nivaldo Diaz (Cuba-A) favorites in Pool A despite the presence of Fiodar Kazhamiaka/Sergey Grabovsky (Canadá-B).


In Pool C, the Canada- A team of Rosso Bonneau/Fecteau Boutin) is other duo hungry for a victory, while in Pool D will compete the two teams of United States, so a big battle lies ahead fo Peña and Quesada who are preparing to debut in the World Championship in Austria from July 28 along with Gonzalez and Diaz who already played at that level in 2015 when finished ninth.


If Karell and Daisel are able to escalate the highest step of the podium they will surpass the owners of the record of three crowns in a row, one plateau they tied in Ocho Rios. Those are Mexicans Juan Virgen and Aldo Miramontes between 2009 and 2010 and Puerto Rican Roberto Rodriguez who won three in a row in 2012 with three different partners and Virgen repeated one year later with Lombardo Ontiveros.


As in the past two editions in Varadero, the sport village will be at the big Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas, with the three playing courts and two warmup areas only a few meters away.


Pools Composition


Pool A: Canadá-B (Fiodar Kazhamiaka/Sergey Grabovsky), Cuba-A (Sergio González/Nivaldo Díaz), Sant Kitts y Nevis-A (Sylvester Hodge Penny/Sylvest Rohan Jeffers),


Pool B: Cuba-B (Karell Peña/Daisel Quesada), República Dominicana (Víctor Castillo/William Sánchez), Nicaragua (Rubén A. Mora/Dany A. López),


Pool C: Guatemala (Andy Leonardo/Luis García); Surinan (Joshua Dwarkasing/David Pinas); Cuba-C (Luis Reyes/José Luis Aguilera), Canadá-A (Rosso Bonneau/Fecteau Boutin);


Pool D: USA-A (Skylar Del Sol/Jon Mesko), USA-B (Jeremy Casebeer/John Mayer), Costa Rica (Esteban Escobar/Andrés Quintero), Cuba-D (Daniel Durán/Hermes Quevedo).