Back News



Ruben Mora and Danny Lopez back on track


MANAGUA, Nicaragua, December 5, 2017. - Hosts Ruben Mora and Danny Lopez are back on track at the men’s Beach Volleyball tournament of the 2017 Managua Central American Games after defeating Davis Montero and Elmar Valdez of Panama.


Ruben and Danny stormed past Davis and Elmar 2-0 (21-13, 21-11) with spectacular defense and attacks, enough to keep in the battle for the medals.


“We have much more to show, we are still in the preliminary round and despite yesterday’s loss our goal of reaching the title match remains intact” said Danny Lopez.


Richard Smith/Sebastian Valenciano from Costa Rica and Andy Leonardo/Luis Garcia from Guatemala earned their fourth consecutive win, and will battle on Wednesday’s first match, trying to earn enough points to grab first place of the preliminary round and a free pass into semifinals.


Richard and Sebastian won their two outings of the day, showing strength even if they haven’t played together for over a year. In their opening match of the day they defeated Luis Luna and Gabriel Nuñez of Belize 2-0 (21-13, 21-17), followed by a tough victory over Irvin Reyes and Manuel Serrano of Honduras by 2-0 (21-19, 22-20).


In their only performance of the day, Andy Leonardo and Luis Garcia dominated Carlos “Tato” Escobar and David “Pepe” Vargas of El Salvador 2-0 (21-16, 21-10) with Andy’s strength over the net and Luis’ good tactics.


Tato and Pepe won their second match of the event, with well fought long rallies against Davis Montero/Elmar Valdez from Panama 2-0 (21-13, 21-16).


The preliminary round resumes on Wednesday where the top ranked team will move into the semifinals.


Men’s Results Tuesday December 5th:

Carlos Escobar/David Vargas (ESA) d Davis Montero/Elmar Valdez (PAN) 2-0 (21-13, 21-16); Richard Smith/Sebastián Valenciano (CRC) d Luis Luna/Gabriel Nuñez (BIZ) 2-0 (21-13, 21-17); Andy Leonardo/Luis Garcia (GUA) d Carlos Escobar/David Vargas (ESA) 2-0 (21-16, 21-10); Richard Smith/Sebastián Valenciano (CRC) d Irvin Reyes/Manuel Serrano (HON) 2-0 (21-19, 22-20); Ruben Mora/Danny Lopez (NCA) d Davis Montero/Elmar Valdez (PAN) 2-0 (21-13, 21-11).