Twelve Teams to Second Round of Copa Claro 


SANTO DOMINGO - Twelve teams qualified to the second round of the main draw of the 2019 Volleyball Copa Claro of Inter School Women's Volleyball Santo Domingo, an event held in the Volleyball Pavilion of the Juan Pablo Duarte Olympic Center in Santo Domingo.


Those teams progressed after winning in the first round during weekend competitions.


Luis Muñoz Rivera Polytechnic Loyola 2-0 and with the same score, San Judas Tadeo won against UNPHU, Ashton to Central Evangelical, Santa Teresita to  El Ángel, New Horizons to MIDUHO and Ergos to Serafín de Asís.


In addition, Community for Learning beat 2-1 to La Hora de Dios and with a score of 2-0, Apostolate surpassed Metropolitan Adventist, Saint Nicolas to ABC, Delin to Saint George, Crossover to Cardenal Sancha and Notre Dame to Evangelical Shalom, La Romana.


Next Saturday, starting at 11:00, the second round action features, Luis Muñoz Rivera vs. San Judas Tadeo, Ashton vs. Santa Teresita, New Horinzons vs. Ergos, Community For Learning vs. Apostolate, Saint Nicolas vs. Delin and Crossover vs. Notre Dame.


The competition which is part of Claro's collegiate sports platform, is sponsored by Samsung, Gatorade, Seguros Universal, Coca Cola and Agua Dasani.