Beach Volleyball starts on Monday at the Pan American Games



TORONTO, Canada, July 11, 2015. – The Beach Volleyball tournament of the Toronto 2015 XVIII Pan American Games starts on Monday July 13 at the Chevrolet Beach Volleyball Centre generating high expectations with the best teams of the American continent.


The competition presents a total of 32 teams representing 19 countries qualified in accordance to the Pan American Volleyball Union regulations, with the top ten teams of the NORCECA Confederation ranking, the top five of the South American Volleyball Confederation and the host country.


The competition format, team distribution, regulations and general details were presented during the general technical meeting that was conducted by Cristobal Marte Hoffiz, 1st FIVB Vice President, with the attendance of the representative of the Pan American Sports Association “PASO”, control committee and organizing committee members, athletes, delegates, coaches and referees.


Marte Hoffiz addressed the athletes, “beach volleyball is the major attraction of the Pan Am Games, you are the heart of the Pan American Park here in Toronto and hundreds of volunteers as well as technical international and local officers are here to provide the necessary support for your successful performance”.  He also praised the wonderful performance of Brazil at the past FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championships.


Teams will be competing in a preliminary pool-play round, in which the top pool winners advance to the quarterfinals, while second and third placed teams will compete in a playoff for the quarterfinals. Winners of the quarter-finals advance to the semifinals and final matches. There will be a classification round for the 5th to 16th places.


Pool composition in the women’s division is:

Pool A Canada, Uruguay, Puerto Rico, Cayman Islands

Pool B Brazil, Costa Rica, Chile, Nicaragua

Pool C United States, Colombia, Guatemala, El Salvador

Pool D Argentina, Mexico, Cuba, Trinidad and Tobago.


Pool composition in the men’s division is:

Pool A Canada, Uruguay, Guatemala, Nicaragua

Pool B Brazil, Mexico, Venezuela, Aruba

Pool C United States, Argentina, Cuba, St. Lucia

Pool D Chile, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Tobago, El Salvador


Monday’s schedule begins at 9:00 (local time) with Liliane Maestrini and Carol Maximo of Brazil facing Elia Machado and Lolette Rodriguez of Nicaragua; followed by Karen Copa and Natalia Alfaro of Costa Rica against Chile’s Francisca Rivas and Pilar Mardones, both of the women’s division


Women’s Teams

Ana Gallay/Georgina Klug (ARG), Liliane Maestrini/Carol Maximo (BRA), Melissa Humana-Paredes/Taylor Pischke (CAN), Chante Smith-Johnson/Ileann Powery (CAY), Francisca Rivas/Pilar Mardones (CHI), Andrea Galindo/Claudia Galindo (COL), Karen Cope/Natalia Alfaro (CRC), Lianma Flores/Leila Martinez (CUB), Ivonne Soler/Laura Molina (ESA), Maria Jose Orellana/Blanca Recinos (GUA), Martha Revuelta/Bibiana Candelas (MEX), Elia Machado/Lolette Rodriguez (NCA), Lina Bernier/Eva Torruella (PUR), Ayana Dyette/Malika Davidson (TTO), Eugenia Nieto/Fabiana Gomez (URU), Kelley Larsen/Betsi Metter (USA),


Men’s Teams

Ian Mehamed/Nicolas Capogrosso (ARG), Eargenell Decuba/Daniel Mitchel (ARU), Alvaro Morais/Victor Felipe (BRA), Josh Binstock/Sam Schachter (CAN), Marcos Grimalt/ Esteban Grimalt (CHI), Nivaldo Diaz/Sergio Gonzalez (CUB), Carlos Escobar/David Vargas (ESA), Julio Recinos/Luis Garcia (GUA), Lombardo Ontiveros/Juan Virgen (MEX), Ruben Mora/Gerson Contreras (NCA), Roberto Rodriguez/Erick Haddock (PUR), Julian Bissette/Joseph Clercent (LCA), Daniel Williams/Fabian Whitfield (TTO), Renzo Cairus/Mauricio Vieyto (URU), Ian Satterfield/Miles Evans (USA), Jackson Henriquez/Jesus Villafañe (VEN)