CAZOVA/ECVA Beach Volleyball finest clash in Olympic qualifiers



CASTAWAYS, Antigua, January 22, 2016 – The cream of the crop in the zonal associations of CAZOVA and ECVA will do battle over the next three days when the 12-team Second Round of NORCECA Men’s Beach Volleyball Continental Cup qualifiers to the 2016 Rio Olympic Games takes place from Friday until Sunday at Castaways Beach, Jolly Harbour, Antigua.


The tournament features the top six teams comprising two pairs each from the first round of qualification held last year in CAZOVA and ECVA regions competing in best-of-five double-elimination series through the finals.


Should the teams be locked at 2-2 at the end of the first four matches, the winner will be determined by a “Golden Set”, up to 15 points, or a two-point advantage.


At the end of the tournament, the top eight teams will qualify to the Third Round of NORCECA qualifiers where they will be joined by the top four teams from the Central American Volleyball Federation (AFECAVOL).  


The teams competing in Antigua are the host country, St Kitts & Nevis, Dutch St Maarten, St Vincent & The Grenadines, Dominica and ECVA Round One winners St Lucia as well as CAZOVA First Round champions, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Barbados, Suriname, U.S. Virgin Islands and Curacao.


Trinidad & Tobago and Jamaica, the top two teams from the first round of CAZOVA qualifiers, and St Lucia and Antigua, the top two in the ECVA were given first round byes on Friday.


Trinidad & Tobago will get its first taste of action against the winner of the match between Barbados and Dominica; Antigua will play the Curacao-St Vincent and The Grenadines winner; Jamaica tackles the Suriname-St Kitts & Nevis victor; and St Lucia will come up against the USVI-Dutch St Maarten winner in the winners’ draw. The losers of the first round matches will then enter Losers Draw.


Second Round teams:


Suriname-A (Furgil Ong A Fat/Keven Sporkslede), Suriname-B (Antonie Vilet/Jermain Lo Kioeng); U.S. Virgin Islands-A (Jake Die Trich/Marc Lomeli), U.S. Virgin Islands-B (Brian Kwasny/Dillon Lusniak); Curacao-A (Darwin Colina/Norandy Bonafasia), Curacao-B (Henrich Daal/Giandro Tokaay); Dominica-A (Kerwin George/Yahn Florent), Dominica-B (David Toussaint/Arden Elmes); Jamaica-A Triston Hitchman/Christopher Walters), Jamaica-B (Mark Lewis/Ryck Webb-Mc Kenzie); St Vincent and The Grenadines-A (Cassius Franklyn/Welcome Delshun); St Vincent and The Grenadines-B (Asmond Franklyn/Ronaldo Franklyn); St Kitts & Nevis-A (St Clair Hodge/Kemroy Percival); St Kitts & Nevis-B (Stedroy Collins/Rohan Jeffers); Dutch St Maarten-A (Shiovanni  Levenstone/Lincoln Arrundell), Dutch St Maarten-B (Riegmar Valies/Shawn Gumbs); Barbados-A (Elwyn Oxley/Ronald Rice), Barbados-B (Kyle Browne/Shaquille Barker); Trinidad and Tobago-A (Daneil Williams/Fabien Whitfield); Trinidad and Tobago-B (Christian Francois/Simon Blake); St Lucia-A (Joseph Clercent/Augustin Faulkner); St Lucia-B (Tevin St Jean/Darnel Eudoxie); Antigua & Barbuda-A (Collin Thomas/Jamarie James); Antigua & Barbuda-B (Adrian Constant/Rixon Joseph).