Carlos Beltrán will continue as General Secretary of COPUR 

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico, October 22, 2020 – Since Mr. Carlos José Beltrán was the only candidate presented by the delegates of the Puerto Rico Olympic Committee for the position of Secretary General, the vice president of NORCECA will be ratified for the fourth time in the Executive Board of the Puerto Rican Olympic Committee.

Beltrán was elected as general secretary for the first time in 2008, then he was reelected in 2012 and 2016. The former president of the National Volleyball Federation of Puerto Rico has worked under the presidencies of David Bernier and Sara Rosario.

The candidates nominated and certified by the Scrutiny Committee who received the required minimum number, five (5), to opt for one of the seven (7) positions of the Executive Committee of the Puerto Rico Olympic Committee, along with Beltrán are: President Sara Rosario Velez; first vice president, Víctor Ruiz Ramos; second vice president César Trabanco and Víctor López; deputy secretary Iván Santos Ortega; treasurer Humberto Torres; Deputy Treasurer Mildred Colón and Fernando Delgado.

The delegate of the Canoeing Federation, Víctor Ruiz, led the Scrutiny Committee together with the delegate of the Shooting Federation, Manuel Guzmán and Andrés Vargas, delegate of the Weightlifting Federation. The legal advisor was Julio Eduardo Torres.

According to the Regulations: Rules and Procedures for the Election of Delegates of the Public Interest and of the Executive of the Puerto Rico Olympic Committee in the Second Section D3 will be eligible for all positions of the Executive of the Olympic Committee, all members of the Olympic Committee including here the newly elected representatives of the Public Interest.

For his part, the president of the Puerto Rican Volleyball Federation, Dr. César Trabanco was nominated for the position of second vice president of COPUR. Trabanco who was reelected in the FPV in the summer will run against the successful track and field coach, Víctor López, who has held the vice presidency since 2012.

 The voting and ratification of the nominees will be on Saturday, October 31 at the headquarters of the Olympic Committee in Old San Juan.