Teams from seven countries to compete in U21 Cup



GATINEAU, Canada, June 22, 2015 – Teams from seven countries divided into two pools will compete at the U21 Men’s Pan American Cup at the Centre Sportif de Gatineau from June 23 to 28.


The teams taking part in the competition are hosts Canada, Chile and Mexico in Pool A and Barbados, Brazil, El Salvador and United States in Pool B.


A preliminary round-robin will be played from June 23 to 25 with the top two teams from each pool advancing directly to the semifinal phase. The quarterfinals will be disputed in crossed matches between the teams placed second and third.


Inspection of team rosters, hotels, and playing and training facilities by the members of the Control Committee are scheduled on June 21 with the general technical meeting on June 22.


The inaugural U21 Men’s Pan American Cup took place at Roberto Duran Arena in Panama City with Venezuela claiming the gold medal by defeating Canada 3-1 (25-23, 16-25, 25-19, 25-22).

Chile took home the bronze medal after defeating Puerto Rico 3-1 (26-24, 19-25, 25-22, 25-19).


Preliminary Round Schedule:


June 23

16:00 El Salvador v Brazil

18:00 Barbados v United States

20:00 Mexico v Canada


June 24

16:00 El Salvador v Barbados

18:00 Chile v Mexico

20:00 Brazil v United States


June 25

16:00 Brazil v Barbados

18:00 United States v El Salvador

20:00 Canada v Chile