Back News




Canadians destroy dreams of Karell and Quesada


VARADERO, Cuba, July 15, 2017 – Fiodar Kazhamiaka and Sergey Grabovsky of Canada-B defeated Karell Peña and Daisel Quesada of Cuba-B 2-1 (12-21, 21-17, 15-12) destroying the dreams of the Cuban pair of setting a new record of consecutive titles in the NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit.


The North Americans, victims in Pool A of Sergio Gonzalez and Nivaldo Diaz of Cuba-A, did not quit in their quest for a semifinal spot while breaking the streak of the local pair, winners of the three crowns disputed on 2017 in Mexico, Cayman Islands an Jamaica.


In the next round, the Canadians will face neighbors Jeremy Casebeer/John Mayer of USA-B, winners over Rosso Bonneau/Fecteau Boutin of Canada-A 2-0 (21-16, 21-18) in a sunny and humid day.


Despite the loss suffered by the highly touted Cubans, two other local teams of Sergio Gonzalez and Nivaldo Diaz of Cuba-A and debutants Luis Reyes and Jose Luis Aguilera of Cuba-C will face each other in the semifinals as evidence of the development the sport once again has experienced in the island.


Reyes and Aguilera won undefeated the Pool C by defeating Canadians Rosso and Boutin and advanced to the semifinals by stunning Skylar Del Sol and Jon Mesko of United States-A 2-0 (21-19, 21-19).


Meanwhile their compatriots, fifth placed in the Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games 2016 did not face difficulties to dominate Victor Castillo and William Sanchez of Dominican Republic 2-0 (21-8, 21-14) despite the right hand injury the younger and taller Nivaldo is nursing which has forced practically to attack with the left hand.


Men’s Saturday Results

Pool A: CUB-A d CAN-B 2-0 (24-22, 21-17). Pool B: CUB-B d DOM 2-0 (21-9, 21-10). Pool C: GUA d SUR 2-1 (21-19, 13-21, 15-12); CUB-C d CAN-A 2-0 (21-15, 21-18). Pool D: USA-B d CRC 2-0 (21-15, 21-7); USA-A d CUB-D 2-1 (18-21, 21-18, 17-15).


Quarterfinals: CUB-A  d DOM 2-0 (21-8, 21-14); USA-B d CAN-A 2-0 (21-16, 21-18); CUB-C d  USA-A 2-0 (21-19, 21-19) y CAN-B d CUB-B 2-1 (12-21, 21-17, 15-12)


Losers Quarterfinals: CUB-D d SUR 2-0 (21-12, 21-17); GUA d CRC 2-1 (23-21, 13-21, 15-9); SKN (bye); NCA (bye).