Back News




Guatemala to host XVII Central American Senior Beach Championship


GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala, July 4, 2017. - Guatemala will host the XVII Central American AFECAVOL Senior Beach Volleyball Championship from July 6-10 at the sport complex Campo Marte in Guatemala City.


The double gender event features the best teams of AFECAVOL with Karen Cope and Natalia Alfaro of Costa Rica and Andy Leonardo alongside Luis Garcia of Guatemala, will fight to remain the title holders. 


Both teams are registers to compete the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championship in Vienna from July 28 to August 6.


Karen and Natalia are aiming for their fourth consecutive Central American title. Costa Rica has won the event a dozen times in the women’s division, nine of them thanks to Natalia Alfaro’s spectacular performances, who has reached the podium every time since her debut in 2005.


Alfaro has earned one silver medal and two bronze medals, as the top Central American beach volleyball player of all time, followed by her former partner and now coach, Ingrid Morales with eight gold medals, one silver and one bronze.


In the women’s division, veteran player Maria Jose Orellana of Guatemala is registered to compete with Blanca Recinos. Majo has won three gold medals, three silver medals and four bronze.


As hosts of the event, Andy Leonardo and Luis Garcia, will battle for their second title as a team. Both Andy and Luis have earned the title on one occasion more. Luis beat Andy in 2012, and has won two silvers and one bronze; while Andy has two silver medals.


Also competing are strong contenders Ruben Mora and Dany Lopez of Nicaragua, as Franklin Flores and Armando Guatemala of El Salvador. The Nicaraguan tandem crowned in 2015 and lost to Andy and Luis in last year’s final match. Franklin and Armando won the bronze medal in the last edition.


Richard Smith and Bryan Monge of Costa Rica enter as a solid team, they won bronze in 2015 and two weeks ago they moved in to the semifinals at Ocho Rios, the third stage of the Norceca Tour.


A total of ten teams in the women’s field and thirteen in the men’s division will arrive to Guatemala on Thursday 6th . The competition runs from Friday 7th to Sunday 10th, starting at 8:00 am.


Women’s teams:

Karen Cope/Natalia Alfaro (CRC); María Juliane Ponce/Liy Stephanie Porras (ESA-1); Kathya Vásquez/Marcela Avalos (ESA-2); Natalia Girón/Estefanie Bethancourt (GUA-1); María José Orellana/Blanca Recinos (GUA-2); Jarisa Hynds/Christianne Etches (HON-1); Lois Pinnace/Marissa Brady (HON-2); Swan Mendoza/Lolette Rodríguez (NCA-1); Socorro López/Claudia Machado (NCA-2); Kariany Saenz (PAN).


Men’s Teams:

Jason Cabral/Baydr Sajia (BIZ-1); Victor Pacheco/Edgar Martínez (BIZ-2); Richard Smith/Bryan Monge (CRC-1); Esteban Escobar/Andrey Quintero (CRC-2); Franklin Flores/Armando Guatemala (ESA-1); Carlos Escobar/David Vargas (ESA-2); Andy Leonardo/Luis García (GUA-1); Erik Flores/Erick Garrido (GUA-2); Marty Wood/Federico Menjivar (HON-1); Irvin Armando Reyes/Carlos Alberto Ramos (HON-2); Ruben Mora/Dany López (NCA-1); Denis López/Gerald Umaña (NCA-2); David Montero/Jason Quintero (PAN).