Brazilians are new champions of Women’s Pan Am Cup


CIUDAD JUAREZ, Mexico, July 9, 2011 – Olympic champions Brazil dethroned Dominican Republic as new queens of the Women’s Volleyball Pan American Cup by winning the decisive match in consecutive sets (25-20, 25-22, 25-19) in front of a packed house at Colegio de Bachilleres Gymnasium on Saturday.


It is the third gold medal for the Brazilians in the history of the event. They also won in 2006 and 2009. The Dominicans, who have finished among the top three in each of the 10 editions, took the silver for a fifth time.


Sheila Castro and Thaisa Menezes led Brazil with 13 points apiece while Fernanda Rodrigues contributed 12. Dominican Prisilla Rivera was the highest scorer with 19 points including 6 blocks. Bethania De la Cruz tallied 10.


“It was a good game where we served blocked very well,” Brazilian Fabiana Claudino said. “Now it is time to celebrate.”


“It was a difficult match as we expected,” Dominican Milagros Cabral said. “We didn’t play as well as we did in our previous games but we are happy with the second place.”


Jose Roberto Gimaraes, Brazilian coach. “I am glad with the results. The matches against Dominican Republic are always good as we play at the same level; we must continue in our preparation for the events that lie ahead of us.”


Marcos Kwiek, coach of Dominican Republic: “We played the whole tournament very well, but today Brazil had more consistency and pushed us hard with their blocks. Also we failed in key points. It is with pride that we take the silver medal.”


Year by Year Results

Year          GOLD          SILVER     BRONZE 

2002            CUB             DOM            CAN

2003            USA             DOM            CUB

2004            CUB             USA             DOM

2005            CUB             DOM            BRA

2006            BRA             CUB             DOM

2007            CUB             BRA             DOM

2008            DOM            BRA             ARG

2009            BRA             DOM            PUR

2010            DOM            PER             USA

2011            BRA             DOM            USA