Mexico to host Women’s Pan American Cup next week


TIJUANA, México, June 11, 2010 – The Mexican cities of Tijuana and Rosarito in Baja California will host through June 16-27 the Ninth Women’s Pan American Cup a twelve-team annual competition that qualifies four sides to next year’s FIVB World Grand Prix.


The top three ranked teams of NORCECA and the best side from the South America are awarded with tickets to the 2011 premier women’s event of FIVB.


Pool A consists of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Cuba, Dominican Republic and Venezuela while teams to compete in Pool B are Trinidad & Tobago, Costa Rica, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico and United States.


Cuba is a four-time winner of the tournament while defending champions Brazil have won two gold medals. USA and Dominican Republic claimed the other two titles.


The competition format establishes that teams compete in a preliminary round-robin pool play with the first placed sides advancing directly to the semifinal round and teams ranked second and third moving up to crossover matches in the quarterfinals.


Year-by-Year Podiums


2002     CUB      DOM     USA

2003     USA      DOM     CUB

2004     CUB      USA      DOM

2005     CUB      DOM     BRA

2006     BRA      CUB      DOM

2007     CUB      BRA      DOM

2008     DOM     BRA      ARG

2009     BRA      DOM     PUR