Back News



Men teams of Nicaragua unbeaten at AFECAVOL U-21 Beach Tournament


PUERTO JIMENEZ, Costa Rica, September 1, 2017. - Nicaraguan duos of Denis Lopez and Jefferson Cascante, and Christopher Cascante alongside Hernan Jimenez won their matches in opening day of the men’s division the tenth AFECAVOL U-21 Central American Beach Volleyball Championship at Playa Preciosa in Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica.


Denis Lopez and Jefferson Cascante of Nicaragua-1  took an important step towards reaching the finals after winning their two outings in pool B. Denis and Jefferson downed Allan Obando and Alexandre Lezcano of CRC-2 by 2-0 (21-14, 21-11) and  Sanchez brothers Brandon and Johel of Honduras-1 in straight sets (21-10, 21-7).


Christopher Cascante and Hernan Jimenez of Nicaragua-2 played only one match in pool A, prevailing 2-0 (21-15, 21-17) over Gabriel Eduardo Núñez/Ernan Ganney Caliz of Belize-1. In this same pool, Erik Flores and Wagner Chacón de Guatemala also defeated Nuñez/Caliz in two sets (21-6, 21-17).


In pool C, Nicolas Velluti and Fabian Guerra of Costa Rica-1 join the unbeaten with two victories; first over Honduras-2 of Irvin Reyes/Adonis Rodríguez by 21-18 all and against Josue Palma/Walter Martinez of El Salvador by 2-0 (21-13, 21-11).


The last matches of the preliminary round and quarterfinals will be held on Satruday. The event concludes on Sunday with the consolation round, semifinals and finals.


Men’s Results Day 1 Friday September/1:

Pool A: NCA2 d BIZ1 2-0 (21-15, 21-17); GUA d BIZ1 2-0 (21-6, 21-17); Pool B: NCA1 d CRC2 2-0 (21-14, 21-11); HON1 d ESA2 2-0 (21-19, 21-16); CRC2 d ESA2 2-1 (16-21, 21-14, 15-11); NCA1 d HON1 2-0 (21-10, 21-7); Pool C: ESA1 d BIZ2 2-0 (21-19, 21-19); CRC1 d HON2 2-0 (21-18, 21-18); HON2 d BIZ2 2-0 (21-9, 21-18); CRC 1 d ESA1 2-0 (21-13, 21-11)


Pool composition:


Pool A: GUA Erik Gerardo Flores/Wagner Arnulfo Chacon (GUA); BIZ-1 Gabriel Eduardo Nuñez/Ernan Ganney Caliz; NCA-2 Christopher Josue Cascante/Hernan José Jiménez.


Pool B: NCA-1 Denis José Lopez/Jefferson de Jesus Cascante; HON-1 Brandon Daniel Sánchez/Bradley Johel Sánchez; ESA-2 Christopher Armando Guardado/Yoel Alejandro Guardado; CRC-2 Allan Jafet Obando/Alexandre Lezcano.


Pool C: ESA-1 Josue Andrés Palma/Walter René Martinez; CRC-1 Jean Nicolas Velluti/Fabian Guerra; HON-2 Irvin Armando Reyes/Adonis Eduardo Rodríguez; BIZ-2 Anselmo Andrés Rivero/Clifford Wallace Barrow.