Sports Organizing Commission meeting works begin in Tijuana


TIJUANA, Mexico, November 17, 2012 - NORCECA’s Sport Organizing Commission meeting works began on Saturday at Fiesta Inn Hotel in Mexico.


This meeting that will precede the one scheduled next December was officially inaugurated by the Confederation President and FIVB First Executive Vice President Cristobal Marte Hoffiz.


“This is a very important meeting and we want to appreciate the Mexican Volleyball Federation and also the Baja California Sports and Physical Culture Institute to develop it,” said Norceca President, who also recognized the work done by the confederation staff and directors.


“But more as a meeting of a work group, is a meeting of and executive group, because we are going to make decisions. The Sport Commission is very important is the back bone of our Confederation and so is the Beach Volleyball Commission,” he added.


The goal for  the official meeting in December is to make it more efficient, so all the issues and points of the agenda will be previously analyzed in a couple of weeks more in Santo Domingo.


On behalf of the Mexican Volleyball Federation, President Ismael Acosta, remarked all the Joint efforts by Norceca and the National Governing Body he represents as well as the dynamism and leadership showed by Marte Hoffiz.


Also on behalf of the Sports Institute of Baja California, General Director, Saul Castro Verdugo, welcomed the attendants. “I want to thank President Cristobal Marte Hoffiz for giving us the opportunity to host this meeting here in Baja California and to all of you for joining us,” he said.


“I hope that the result of these two days of very intense work can be done in benefit of the Norceca sports program and also can contribute to improve volleyball in the FIVB,” he mentioned.


The Tijuana meeting will conclude on Sunday with the participation of members of the Commission who have arrived from many countries of the region like Canada, Costa Rica,  Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, United States of America as well as Trinidad and Tobago.