Teams from twelve countries in Varadero Beach Tournament

VARADERO, Cuba, May 3, 2022 – Teams representing twelve countries have registered to participate in the Varadero Beach Volleyball Tournament, the second stop of the 2022 NORCECA Circuit from May 5-7.


Canada, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, U.S. Virgin Islands, Mexico, Puerto Rico and United States are fielding teams in both genders, while Belize, Jamaica and St. Kitts & Nevis will compete only in the men’s division.


In the previous edition of Varadero’s event in 2019, Cubans Leila Martinez and Maylen Delis won the gold medal while compatriots Lidy Echeverría and Yanisleidis Sanchez claimed third place. Since then, Leila and Lidy have been playing as a team.


The men’s division crown also went to the hands of Cuban players as Sergio Gonzalez and Luis Enrique Reyes defeated Nicaraguans Ruben Mora and Denis López.


All players are programmed to arrive in Cuba next Thursday for the preliminary inquiries and technical meeting with the competitions scheduled to begin on Friday morning.


The Varadero tournament was held for the first time in 2011 and was played without interruption until 2019 when the Covid 19 pandemic caused a forced break.


The Cuban teams of Yaismel Borrell and Sergio González in men and of Ion Canet and Nirian Sinal in women won the first edition with triumphs over the Mexicans Juan Virgen and Aldo Miramontes and the Puerto Ricans Yarleen Santiago and Dariam Acevedo, respectively.


Teams in Varadero



CAN Emma Glagau/Ruby Sorra, Anna Licht/Anna Feore, CUB Amanda Kindelan/Dayi Zerqueira, Leila Martinez/Lidy Echeverría, DOM Julibeth Payano/Jeneiry Rosario, ESA Yvonne Soler/Laura Molina, GUA Natalia Girón/Paola Alvarado, ISV Amber Bennett/Cristina Almeida, MEX Abril Flores/Esperanza Albarrán, Atenas Gutierrez/María Quintero, PUR Adriana Nieves/Stephanie Rondón, USA Iya Lindhal/Alexandra Wheeler.



BIZ Ernest Broaster/Bryton Codd, CAN Simon Fecteau-Boutin/Hugo Rosso-Bonneau, Liam Kopp/Ivan Reka, CUB Miguel Ayón/Yosvani Carrasco, Noslen Díaz/Jorge Luis Alayo, DOM Oscar Martínez/Hayerling De Jesús, ESA Franklin Flores/Armando Guatemala, GUA Andy Blanco/Luis García, ISV Marc Lomeli/Daniel Samuelson, JAM Ryck Webb/Noley Ferguson, MEX Isaías Aguirre/Gabriel Cruz, Ricardo Galindo/García, PUR Josue Rivera/Cristian Encarnación, SKN Shawn Seabrookes/Nage Hendrickson, USA Travis Mewhirter/Thimothy Brewster, Ryan Smith/Michael Boag.