Back News




U21 Pan Am Cup grants two tickets to World Championship


FORT MCMURRAY, Canada, May 12, 2017 – The U21 Men’s Pan American Cup, a qualifier to the age-group FIVB World Championship in Czech Republic, features seven countries battling from May 16 to 21.


The top ranked team from NORCECA and the top team from South America will earn tickets from this event to the age-group FIVB World Championship to take place in the cities of Brno and Ceske Budejovice from June 23 to July 2.


Cuba, Chile and Puerto Rico will compete in Pool A while defending champions Brazil, Barbados, Guatemala and hosts Canada will battle in Pool B.


The pool winners will receive direct passes to the semifinal round with the second and third placed teams competing in the quarterfinals phase.


Opening day on May 16 features the matches of Cuba v Chile, Brazil v Barbados and Canada v Guatemala.


Teams from South America came up winners in the two previous edition of the intercontinental Pan American Cup with Venezuela claiming the title in Panama City in 2011 and Brazil in Gatineau, Canada in 2015. The event was not held in 2013.


In 2011, Venezuela defeated Canada 3-1 (25-23, 16-25, 25-19, 25-23) in the match for the gold medal. Chile took the bronze medal with a 3-1 (26-24, 19-25, 25-22, 25-19) victory over Puerto Rico.


Four years later, Brazil grabbed the gold medal with a 3-0 (25-22, 25-23, 25-17) victory over the United States while Canada won the bronze with a 3-2 (25-23, 19-25, 20-25, 25-16, 15-11) against Chile.


Previous Podiums

Year   Gold    Silver Bronze

2011   VEN    CAN    CHI

2015   BRA    USA    CAN


Preliminary Round Schedule


May 16

12:00  Cuba v Chile

18:00  Brazil v Barbados

20:00  Canada v Guatemala


May 17

16:00  Chile v Puerto Rico

18:00  Guatemala v Brazil

20:00  Canada v Barbados


May 18

16:00  Puerto Rico v Cuba

18:00  Barbados v Guatemala

20:00  Canada v Brazil