VIII Men’s Pan American Cup announced in Mexico


MEXICO CITY, Mexico, August 7, 2013 - The VIII Men’s Pan American Volleyball Cup was officially announced at the Mexican Olympic Committee Museum on Wednesday.


The seven-team tournament will be played from August 17-25 at the “Juan de la Barrera” Gymnasium and according to the local organising committee will be part of the celebration of the Mexico 1968 Olympic Games 45th anniversary.


Argentina, Brazil, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Tobago and United States of America are expected to participate in this event that grants the winner a ticket to the World League qualification playoff.


Argentina, Brazil and Puerto Rico will compete in Pool A, while Mexico, USA, Dominican Republic as well as Trinidad and Tobago will be part of Pool B.


The highest ranked participating National Team in the final results of the competition, not already qualified to the FIVB World League 2014, will qualify to the FIVB World League Qualification Tournament Challenge Event.


The announcement was made by the Mexican Volleyball Federation along with the Mexican Olympic Committee, the National Sports and Physical Culture Commission, Mexico City’s Sports Institute and the Benito Juarez Delegation authorities.


On behalf of Mexican Volleyball Federation, the Secretary General Rafael Anaya attended to the conference as well as the Mexican Olympic Committee President, Carlos Padilla Becerra; the General Director of Mexico City Sports Institute, Horacio de la Vega, and the Benito Juarez’s Delegation Sports Director, Ruben Aguirre.